Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech

(Originally posted in my June 2013 recap, but I wanted a separate entry for this book.)

Book #15
Walk Two Moons
Creech, Sharon
Genre: YA
Pages: 296
Recommend (a top read of 2013)

This is the story of Salamanca Tree Hiddle (Chickabidee), her gramps and gram (Gooseberry), her friend Phoebe (Peeby), her mom, her dad and various other people she meets.

There is a trip cross country with a story within a story. You’ll see life in all it’s various stages played out. I found the characters captivating, believable, and lovable. I saw my own family in the story. I saw some of my friends, and I made new friends with every character in the book.

Considered young adult fiction (ages 12-18), the story has enough depth for most adults who simply enjoy a good read. Upon finishing this book, I sobbed for a good 30 minutes. It’s one the best books I’ve read this year, and it’s one of the worst books I’ve read this year. I recommend it, and do keep the tissues handy.

Comments Off on Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech

Filed under Books

Comments are closed.