July Recap

It’s almost the middle of August, so it’s time for a July recap! It was a good month filled with sunshine and good times. We drove over to “the big city” with a friend and shopped until we dropped. I even drove us all home and no one screamed. Ha Ha Hubby and I took a couple of hikes and I got some great photos.

Wouldn’t be July without a motorcycle shot. Crummy because it’s through the windshield with my pocket camera, but as they say, the best camera for the job is the one you have with you (remember this). We followed these three riders for 16 miles down Hwy 101 and watched the “Left-handed low wave” between them and the northbound bikers at least 50 times. I now find myself doing the “Left-handed low wave” from inside the car—but I’m pretty sure mine are dorky*. 😀 We also chanced upon the final nesting day of some barn swallows, and even though it wasn’t my good camera (see comment above) the shot was fun to grab without becoming a target. 😉

Our favorite deer visited across the street and I grabbed my camera and spent 30 minutes or so walking ever so cautiously over her way. I found it necessary to watch where I stepped in order to avoid the piles of bear scat. I was able to get within 30 feet of the deer before she scampered into the bushes.

Finally, my brown thumb turned green and I watched my red geraniums bloom. You might enjoy “the rest of the story” of the geraniums. I know I didn’t. Deer-heading the Geraniums. 😀

Movies: We watched a few good movies, several pitiful movies, and discovered several shows on BBCAmerica that we enjoy. New Tricks is our favorite, and in Mystery Theater we found Endeavour (the new Inspector Morse series) excellent and are glad they are doing another season.

~Quartet: 7 out of 10 stars at imdb

~Da Vince Code – book and movie
Warning: If you’ve never read the book, nor watched the movie, then skip this review because it contains spoilers.

~Notorious (1946)
A woman is asked to spy on a group of Nazi friends in South America. How far will she have to go to ingratiate herself with them?
Stars: Cary Grant, Ingrid Bergman, Claude Rains
A Hitchcock classic: 10 out of 10 spies

~The Mating Season (1951)
Ellen McNulty leaves her New Jersey hamburger stand and heads west to pay a surprise visit to her son and his new bride. When Ellen arrives, her daughter-in-law mistakes her for the maid …
Stars: Thelma Ritter, Gene Tierney, John Lund, Miriam Hopkins
One of my favorite Thelma Ritter movies. Wish it was available to purchase on dvd. 10 out of 10 hamburgers

~Longitude (2000)
Parallel stories: 18th century Harrison builds the marine chronometer for safe navigation at sea; 20th century Gould is obsessed with restoring it.
Stars: Jonathan Coy, Christopher Hodsol, Jeremy Irons
Fantastic movie. 10 out of 10 stars

~Despicable Me 2
“When the world needed a hero, they called a villain.”
And they called a likable villain! Delightful movie. Some super funny moments, some great quotes (that I won’t share because it might spoil the movie for you), some tender moments, some scary moments (just ask the little girl who sat near us). All in all a great movie. We gave it 9 out of 10 minions, compared to 10 out of 10 minions for the first Despicable Me—but only because with all the great lines there wasn’t a FLUFFY moment. LOLOL

Books:
2013 Recap to date:
Total pages read: 7542
Number of books read: 18
Chunksters (over 450 pages): 9**
Non-fiction: 2
Fiction: 1
Mystery: 2
Historical fiction:
Thriller/Spy: 12
Young Adult: 1

**The number of “Chunksters” really surprised me as last year I read 8 in total.

This months reads, with links to their reviews:

~Book #16: Map of Bones by James Rollins
Genre: Thriller
Pages: 560 (chunkster)
Book 2 of 13 in the Sigma Force series
Recommend with reservation
http://wp.me/p1fHt0-dr

~Book #17: Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
Genre: General Fiction
Pages: 304
Recommend (a top read of 2013)
Read in 5 days and it would have been shorter, but life beckoned.
http://wp.me/p1fHt0-dx

~Book #18: Overboard!: A True Blue-Water Odyssey of Disaster and Survival by Michael J. Tougias
Genre: Non-fiction
Pages: 224
Recommend (a top read of 2013)
http://wp.me/p1fHt0-dC

Thanks for dropping by. Comments always welcome.

Comments Off on July Recap

Filed under Books, Films/Movies, Life, Photos

Comments are closed.