Shatnerverse… irreverent… humorous… and…

“Shatner Rules: Your Guide to Understanding the Shatnerverse” by William Shatner is my 29th book this year. Not…. that…. that…. is…. especially important.

At only 272 pages, I expected to read this in 5 days. It took me 8, and it felt like 13. Not sure why as I found it mostly enjoyable. “Shatner Rules….” is an irreverent, humorous, and touching glimpse into the life of William Shatner. Or maybe I should say Mr. Shatner? I know I can’t say Bill because we aren’t friends. Still…. around the 2/3 point in the book I got bored. I was enjoying the book, but I was hoping for more. Or maybe less. Of course, it might have simply been…. the wrong book to read…. right…. after reading about…. Queen Elizabeth (more on that in a day or so).

Now that I’ve finished the book, I can say: a mostly enjoyable book, with humor (irreverent at times), and…. perhaps…. too…. much…. Shatner. What? How can you have too much Shatner? You can if you aren’t enamored with the guy. HA! There is raw language scattered thorough out the book; and you’ll quickly learn his political leanings (Hey! Mr. Shatner. Either keep your nasty jibes to yourself, or pick on both sides. You spoke about kindness, and laughing with someone vs at someone—take your own advice. Okay, so I’ll give him credit for having Rush Limbaugh over to his home to watch football, but no credit to his friend.) I did find myself feeling sorry for Mr. Shatner when he shared how he is afraid (terrified was his word) of dying, and that he yearns for the peace that many folks have—yet he ridicules those same people early on in the book. There were some grand stories. The “2005 AFI Life Achievement Award: A Tribute to George Lucas” had me laughing and crying at the same time.

The story of the final wake-up call for the Space Shuttle Discovery astronauts was heart warming:

This is what I said to the heroes as they orbited our planet, as the theme music from Star Trek played.   Space, the Final Frontier. These have been the voyages of the Space Shuttle Discovery. Her thirty-year mission? To seek out new science, to build new outposts, to bring nations together on the Final Frontier. To boldly go and do what no spacecraft has done before.

And the emergency room kidney stone tale…. well, I’ll never be able to watch Captain Kirk without thinking, “Look, Captain Kirk is having a baby!” HA!

In the end, I started this book not being a Shatner fan, and I finished this book not being a Shatner fan; but I did take a few things away from this book:

  • Get up out of bed each day.
  • Get up and attack the day.
  • Never give up.
  • Say yes and give things a try.
  • It doesn’t matter how old you are—LIVE!
  • Make sure you know what’s at the end for you spiritually.
  • Stop…. using…. so…. many…. ellipses….
1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Shatnerverse… irreverent… humorous… and…

  1. Pingback: Pork Chimichangas – Caribbean style (baked) « warm cookies