30 Days of Movies–It’s a Wrap!

30 Days of Movies–wrapped into one

I just finished a 30 Day Movie Meme, and rather than drag it out for 30 days, here it is all rolled into 1 post.
Day 1 – Favorite Film: Harvey
Elwood P. Dowd quotes:

Well, I’ve wrestled with reality for 35 years, Doctor, and I’m happy to state I finally won out over it.

Years ago my mother used to say to me, she’d say, “In this world, Elwood, you must be” – she always called me Elwood – “In this world, Elwood, you must be oh so smart or oh so pleasant.” Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant. You may quote me.

And my all time favorite quote from this movie is one my husband uses, and it’s always a kick to watch the faces of folks to see who knows where it’s from and who doesn’t:

Attractive sales lady at a department store: What can I do for you, Mr. Dowd? Elwood P. Dowd: What did you have in mind?

Day 2 – Least Favorite Film: Blazing Saddles
Day 3 – Favorite Comedy: Oscar

Chazz Palminteri as dumb, dopey, lovable “Connie”.

Snaps: Connie! Am-scray! 

Connie: Do I have to, Boss? Every time I leave I fall behind. 

Day 4 – Favorite Drama: Godfather series
To me, this movie is also a slice of America. The good, the bad, the evil, the corrupt politicians and cops, and the average citizen who turns a blind eye to the evil in front of them.

Michael: My father is no different than any powerful man, any man with power, like a president or senator. 

Kay Adams: Do you know how naive you sound, Michael? Presidents and senators don’t have men killed. Michael: Oh. Who’s being naive, Kay? 

Day 5 – Favorite Action Film: Golden Eye

[Q has blown up a dummy with an explosive pen] 

Q: Don’t say it… 

James Bond: The writing is on the wall. 

Q: Along with the rest of him. 

Day 6 – Favorite Horror: I don’t watch the new horror films, much too gruesome for me; and the few “horror” flicks that I’ve watched give me the shivers. After more than 40 years I still don’t like to shower when I’m home alone thanks to Psycho (and we won’t discuss how freaked I got when hubby was in hospital and I was staying in a guest house and the shower had a curtain similar to the one in … well, now I’ve got the creeps all over again!)The Birds was good, and it still gives me the frights, but I think for all round it scares me and I love it – Arachnophobia is tops.

Dr. Ross Jennings: Come on, let’s go find that spider. And let’s find your mom to take care of that spider. Honey, we’re in the living room. We need you to kill a spider. 

No blood and gore, no slashings, no guns, nothing but normal folks living normals lives with normal spiders. Or so they think. And since I have a real fear of spiders, this movie is therapy. Yeah, right. I’m jumpier than ever after I watch, but watch it once a year is what I do. With the lights out. HA!

Dr. Ross Jennings: [after killing a spider] Therapy. 

Day 7 – Favorite Animated Feature: Gnomeo and Juliet

Juliet: He’s a Blue! 

Gnomeo: She’s a Red! 

Featherstone [pink plastic flamingo ]: And I’m Pink – who cares! 

It’s been several months since we saw this movie and I still have this desire to add Gnomes (one red, one blue) and a couple of pink flamingos to my garden. Hehehe

Featherstone: A weed by any other name is still a weed. 

Day 8 – Favorite Thriller: I’m not always good at picking just one. Actually, I have trouble making decisions in life. So, in alphabetical order, here’s a few of the thrillers that I watch over and over, and they never fail to thrill.
  • Absolute Power
  • Charade
  • Day of the Jackal (1971)
  • Deceived (with Goldie Hawn)
  • Dial M for Murder
  • Entrapment
  • Jack Ryan movies: Hunt for Red October, Patriot Games, Clear and Present Danger, Sum of All Fears
  • Jennifer 8
  • Laura
  • Midnight Lace
  • North by Northwest
  • Notorious
  • Sneakers
  • Sorry, Wrong Number
  • Three Days of the Condor
Day 9 – Favorite Musical: The Music Man, but South Pacific is a close second.
Then there’s “Kiss Me Kate”, “Brigadoon”, “Paint Your Wagon”, “Chicago”, “How to Succeed in Business…”, “Holiday Inn”, “White Christmas”, “Singin’ In the Rain” … and more. LOL! We love musicals and own a shelf full of them.
Day 10 – Favorite Foreign Film: Le Pacte du Silence (“The Pact of Silence”) with Gérard Depardieu.
Day 11 – Favorite kid’s movie: E.T.

Elliot: He’s a man from outer space and we’re taking him to his spaceship.

Greg: Well, can’t he just beam up?

Elliot: This is *reality*, Greg.

Day 12 – Favorite Love Story: Kate and Leopold

Leopold: Are you suggesting madam that there exists a law compelling a gentleman to lay hold of canine bowel movements?

Police Officer: I’m suggesting that you pick the poop up.

My favorite bit:

Leopold: That thing is a damned hazard!

Kate: It’s just a toaster!

Leopold: Well, insertion of bread into that so-called toaster produces no toast at all, merely warm bread! Inserting the bread twice produces charcoal. So, clearly, to make proper toast it requires one and a half insertions, which is something for which the apparatus doesn’t begin to allow! One assumes that when the General of Electric built it, he might have tried using it. One assumes the General might take pride in his creations instead of just foisting them on an unsuspecting public.

Kate: You know something? Nobody gives a rat’s ass that you have to push the toast down twice. You know why? Because everybody pushes their toast down twice!

Leopold: Not where I come from.

Kate: Oh, right. Where you come from, toast is the result of reflection and study!

Leopold: Ah yes, you mock me. But perhaps one day when you’ve awoken from a pleasant slumber to the scent of a warm brioche smothered in marmalade and fresh creamery butter, you’ll understand that life is not solely composed of tasks, but tastes.

Kate: [mesmerized] Say that again.

Day 13 – Favorite Chick Flick: The Mating Season and The Model and the Marriage Broker. Both were filmed in 1951 and star Thelma Ritter (whom I adore!). If these ever hit blu-ray, they are so mine!:

Day 14 – Favorite documentary: I don’t normally watch documentary’s, so the closest I can come is Gettysburg or HBO’s John Adams.
Day 15 – Favorite Play Adaptation: So many good answers for me, but my top picks are:
  • Drama: Casablanca
  • Comedy: Harvey
Day 16 – Favorite Book Adaptation: Biggest problem is that if I love the book I normally dislike the movie, and if I love the movie I seldom go read the book. LOL! Still here are a few that are good adaptations, in alphabetical order:
  • Absolute Power – mainly because the movie doesn’t try to be the book, and they both work.
  • Day of the Jackal.
  • Eye of the Needle, although the book is steamier and way better.
  • Harry Potter series – even with the few changes and all the items that had to be left out (who’s going to sit through a 9 hour movie?), the movies are excellent adaptions of the books.
Day 17 – Least Favorite Book Adaptation: Oh, it has to be “Raise the Titanic”. Grand book, horrible, horrible movie. Even the author thought so. This is from wiki:

Author Clive Cussler was so disgusted with the film that he refused every film company that wanted to adapt a film from one of his books. (When the film Sahara was made, Cussler sued the filmmakers.)

Day 18 – Movie That is your Guilty Pleasure: None. I don’t watch things that I’d feel guilty about watching. Seriously. I know it sounds snobbish, but I don’t mean it that way. When I was younger, my response might have been “Eye of the Needle” (or a movie similar), simply because it was “racy” (although the book is racier!) — but now? I’m old enough to really not give a rip what others think about what I watch and I watch the racy parts and think “ho-hum”. After all, years of being married … well, never mind. LOL!
Day 19 – Film That Made You Cry the Hardest: Schindler’s List, and we never finished watching it. Didn’t take long before my heart was totally broken and I was sobbing out loud. Hubby had tears running down his face. I remember saying, “NO! Oh no!” Hubby turned it off and that was that.
Day 20 – A Movie with your Favorite Actress: I don’t have a “favorite” actress, so here’s what I did: Searched wiki for a list of the Oscar nominations for best actress. Went to my birth year, looked at the list, picked one at random and picked a movie of her’s that is a “favorite” with me:
  • Loretta Young: The Bishop’s Wife
Day 21 – Movie with your Favorite Actor: Just like yesterday, no “favorite”, went to wiki: Oscar nominations for best actor, to my birth year, picked one at random and came up with:
  • Kirk Douglas: Gunfight at the O.K. Corral
Day 22 – Movie You Wish You Could Live In: I originally wanted to say “Downton Abbey” as daughter #4, but now … now I want to live in Cranford where women are FRIENDS. Even though life is tough, they survive and support and encourage each other.

Miss Pole: This is no occasion for a sport! There’s lace at stake!

Day 23 – Movie that Inspires You: Pay It Forward:

Chris: Is that what you want for your birthday? Everybody it forward?

Trevor: I can’t ask for that.

Chris: Sure you can. Why not?

Trevor: It wouldn’t work.

Chris: Why?

Trevor: [Long pause] I already blew out my candles.

Day 24 – Movie with Your Favorite Soundtrack: The Mission: “Gabriel’s Oboe is hauntingly beautiful, but the movie? A 1-star from us.
Day 25 – Movie with the most beautiful scenery: A tie between “Sound of Music” and “Hero”.
Day 26 – Movie with Your Favorite Villain:
Counting down …
5. “Die Hard” with Alan Rickman as Hans Gruber.
4. “It’s a Wonderful Life” with Lionel Barrymore as Mr. Potter.
3. “Chinatown” with John Huston as Noah Cross.
2. “The Usual Suspects” with Kevin Spacey as “Verbal”.
But my number 1 is Deceived with John Heard as Jack Saunders.
Day 27 – Movie with Your Favorite Villainess:
Counting down …
In 3rd place: “Dangerous Liaisons” where Glenn Close plays the Marquise de Merteuil
“When one woman strikes at the heart of another she seldom misses, and the wound is invariably fatal.”
In 2nd place: “Golden Eye” where Famke Janssen plays Xenia Sergeevna Onatopp:
“It’s clean. I had to ventilate someone.”
And my top pick: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows where Helena Bonham Carter plays Bellatrix Lestrange and is dispatched quite nicely by Molly Weasley.

“[singing] I killed Sirius Black!”

Day 28 – Movie with your Favorite Hero: Perhaps an odd choice. I know that when I read these questions ahead of time I had an entirely different answer in mind, but now … this is my hero … Violet, Dowager Countess of Grantham from “Downton Abbey”. To explain may include a spoiler for those who’ve yet to watch this, so be careful if that’s the case. (Sweep across to read)
Second season (series as they call it), episode 5 (not exactly sure), where Violet FIGHTS to bring William “home” to Downton, even though he’s not an officer. Every part of this touched my heart, but what clinched it for me was when they were at the field hospital and William’s dad tells the doc and Violet that he knows that William will do better once he’s “home”, and the doctor starts to say again that the wounds are fatal, and Violet stops the doctor, and says:

“See, sometimes, we must let the blow fall by degrees. Give him time to find the strength to face it.”

Gads, I adore Violet here. Not for her sarcastic wit (which I love), but for her compassion — something that I found horribly lacking in the doctors when my husband was fighting for his life and they brutally told me things. So based on my life experience, I’m picking Violet.
Day 29 – First Movie You Remember Watching: Glad this wasn’t first movie ever watched as my brain doesn’t go back that far. HAHA We didn’t have the money to go to the theater, although I know my brother and I went to the Saturday matinees in the summer, but I would have been around 10-12 at the time and we would have most likely watched Disney films and other kids movies. Not one of which sticks in my brain. I know we watch Wizard of Oz at home on TV, but the first time I remember doing so was, wow, again, I would have been around 10, my brother 5, and he went to bed before it was over because it scared him and we didn’t watch it again for several years. Since I do remember that title, that’s what I’ll say. LOL

Day 30 – The last film you watched …
A. In the theater: Red Tails
B. At home: Despicable Me: “It’s so FLUFFY!”
Comments Off on 30 Days of Movies–It’s a Wrap!

Filed under Books

Comments are closed.