30 Day Movie Meme – Day 4

Day 4 – Favorite Drama

So many great dramatic movies, and since the drama genre is my one of favorite genres, it’s really hard for me to pick only 1 movie—it would be easier for me to simply share the list of dramatic movies sitting our dvd shelves. Still, there is one movie, or actually a trilogy, that speaks to me on many levels:

“Godfather I, II, III”

I saw “Godfather I” in a smallish theater with my mom. It was a girl’s night out in our new hometown, and this movie was the talk of the country. Add to the mix that we’d lived south of Chicago, and we had a close family member who had married a mob guy, and this was one movie we had to see.

I’m gonna make him an offer he won’t refuse.

We sat near the back, and while we had popcorn and sodas, we barely touched them. The horse head scene was so shocking, both of us felt ill. When Michael tells his new girl, Kay:

That’s my family Kay, that’s not me. 

mom and I looked at each other and quietly said, “Sure.” Experience with family had already taught us otherwise. While the movie earns its criticism for romanticizing the mobsters, still it does portray them as they see themselves.

[to Rocco who has killed Paulie in the car]
Peter Clemenza: Leave the gun. Take the cannoli. 

To me, this movie is also a slice of America. The good, the bad, the evil, the corrupt politicians and cops, and the average citizen who turns a blind eye to the evil in front of them.

Michael: My father is no different than any powerful man, any man with power, like a president or senator. 

Kay Adams: Do you know how naive you sound, Michael? Presidents and senators don’t have men killed. 

Michael: Oh. Who’s being naive, Kay? 


Comments Off on 30 Day Movie Meme – Day 4

Filed under Films/Movies

Comments are closed.