30 Day Movie Meme – Day 3

Day 3 – Favorite Comedy

Hands down, none other for me: Oscar

Fun cast: Sylvester Stallone as “Snaps”, and I actually like Stallone in comedic roles like this. Don Ameche as the slightly ditzy priest.

Tim Curry as “Dr. Poole” is delightful, and paired with Marisa Tomei as “Lisa”, they make the perfect couple.

Dr. Thornton Poole: [about Snaps’ daughter, Lisa] She seems to have such nicely rounded diphthongs!
Snaps: That’s what got her into this jam!

Peter Riegert is perfect as “Aldo”, I look at him and think of all the old B&W gangster movies I’ve watched.

Aldo: Breakfast is soived.
Snaps: “Served”, you paluka! 

We also have the Finucci brothers: the newspaper article, the piano playing … hahaha

And I love the nods to so many other movies: “A Day at the Races”,  “Singin’ In the Rain”, “Rocky”, “My Fair Lady”; and because I’m such a fan of “The Blues Brothers”, I like the line about “Minnie the Moocher”.

I can’t forget Kirk Douglas as the papa—and his deathbed scene is priceless.

Eduardo Provolone: Ah, so now you wanna make-a peace with you papa? You wanna me die happy.
Snaps: Of course, Papa.
Eduardo Provolone: So now you *wanna* me die! 

Chazz Palminteri as dumb, dopey, lovable “Connie”.

Snaps: Connie! Am-scray!
Connie: Do I have to, Boss? Every time I leave I fall behind. 

Don’t fall farther behind, settle in and enjoy OSCAR.

(Suddenly I realize I’m starting to sound like a movie ad! HA!)

Comments Off on 30 Day Movie Meme – Day 3

Filed under Films/Movies

Comments are closed.