30 Day Movie Meme – Day 1

Having enjoyed the 30 Day Book Meme, I’ve opted to move on to a 30 Day Movie Meme. “Places everyone! Quiet on the set! And Action!”

Day 1 – Favorite Film

Define favorite:

Definition: preferred

Synonyms: admired, adored, beloved, best-loved, cherished, choice, darling, dear, dearest, desired, especial, esteemed, favored, intimate, liked, main, number one, personal, pet*, pleasant, popular, precious, prized, revered, sweetheart*, treasured, wished-for

Antonyms: disliked, hated, loathed

It’s hard for me to pick one favorite movie (or book, color, flower, scent, etc). There are several movies that I prefer, but my preference often changes depending on my mood, what’s going on at that moment in my life, even where I am and who I’m with. So I struggle with “favorite” questions. Still, to move forward here I’ll plunge in and pick a movie that I can enjoy over and over, and never tire of it:

Harvey (1950)

I love the subtle humor, the cast, the whole story. How can you not like a movie about a man (Elwood P. Dowd played by Jimmy Stewart) who can honestly say, “Oh, every day is a beautiful day.”

Josephine Hull is wonderful as Elwood’s sister, Veta Louise Simmons (and wasn’t she grand in “Arsenic and Old Lace” as well?). Jesse White is perfect as Marvin Wilson, the orderly from the Sanitarium, whose heart is easily turned by an egg and onion sandwich when he meets the woman of his dreams, Myrtle Mae—delightfully played by Victoria Horner. William Lynn is perfect as the slightly bemused Judge Gaffney (Well, I’ll be swizzled!). I also love the Chumley’s: Nana Bryant as the wife of the doctor carries off the inane conversation with Elwood with grace and aplomb, and Cecil Kellaway is perfect as the head doctor who would like nothing more than to spend his days in peace and quiet, with Harvey.

One of my favorite scenes is when Mrs. Tewksberry, the full-figured operatic singer, entertains with “Hop, Hop, Hop, Hop, Hippity Hop”. If you’ve never watched this, do so. The song is about 4 minutes in and worth letting the video load to watch.


Some of my favorite quotes:

Wilson: I’ll tell you something, Myrt.
Myrtle Mae Simmons: Yeah?
Wilson: You know, you not only got a nice build, but you got something else, too.
Myrtle Mae Simmons: Really? What?
Wilson: You got the screwiest uncle that ever stuck his puss inside our nuthouse.

Elwood P. Dowd quotes:

Well, I’ve wrestled with reality for 35 years, Doctor, and I’m happy to state I finally won out over it.

Years ago my mother used to say to me, she’d say, “In this world, Elwood, you must be” – she always called me Elwood – “In this world, Elwood, you must be oh so smart or oh so pleasant.” Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant. You may quote me.

And my all time favorite quote from this movie is one my husband uses, and it’s always a kick to watch the faces of folks to see who knows where it’s from and who doesn’t:

Attractive sales lady at a department store: What can I do for you, Mr. Dowd?

Elwood P. Dowd: What did you have in mind?

If you’ve never seen Harvey, you should.

1 Comment

Filed under Films/Movies

One response to “30 Day Movie Meme – Day 1

  1. I need to watch this movie again. It’s been too long!