30 Day Book Meme – Day 30

Day 30 – Your favorite book of all time 

And so we come to the end, but for me we come to the beginning. We come to the book that showed me the way to a new life, a new beginning. As a young teen, I read this book and never understood it, although I wanted to do so. As I grew older, I would read it now and then, but mostly it sat on the shelf.

As a young woman, there came a time in my life when I was empty, scared, and filled with despair deep in my heart. One day as I was working in the garden I realized the problem was my relationship with God. I wasn’t sure how to fix this relationship, but I knew I had to try. I went inside,washed my hands and sat down with my Bible. It was a gift from Grandma and Grandpa J, and I lovingly opened it and turned to favorite passages that were marked. I read, and read, and read, but I didn’t find the answer to my problem. I couldn’t understand why the answer wasn’t there. I broke into tears and cried out to God that I knew my relationship with Him was wrong, but He was going to have to show me how to fix it because I was lost.

Several discouraging months went by, and each day my emptiness, fear and worry grew, but no answer was to be found. One day my husband said he thought it was time we went to church. Okay, I said, thinking that maybe I’d find the answer I was looking for. My husband asked me to make some calls to several local churches and ask them a series of 5 questions, and then we’d talk over the answers. I thought it was strange, but I did as he asked. I didn’t understand the questions, and 3 of the 5 preachers didn’t either. That evening, hubby and I went over the answers. Hubby explained the questions and answers to me, but I didn’t quite understand. Hubby decided that we should talk to one of the preachers, and he called and made an appointment and the next day the preacher came to our home and talked with us for quite a long time. I remember feeling quite defensive over some of the things he had to say, but I kept quiet. When hubby said we’d come to his church on Sunday, my heart sank; but I wanted to find the answers I so desperately needed, so I figure why not.

Sunday came, we went, we met lots of nice people, but I came home as empty inside as before. We returned the following Sunday, and I was pleased that so many folks remembered us, but again, I was empty inside. Another Sunday came and went, and I was thinking there was no answer for me. Then came Christmas Eve. We attended the morning service and I heard the words I needed to hear.

Romans 3:23 NKJV – for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.
Romans 3:10 NKJV – As it is written: “There is none righteous, no, not one.
Romans 6:23 NKJV – For the wages of sin [is] death, but the gift of God [is] eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.
Romans 5:8 NKJV – But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
Romans 10:9-10 NKJV – that if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart one believes unto righteousness, and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation
Romans10:13 NKJV – For “whoever calls on the name of the LORD shall be saved.”

I bowed my head and prayed and gave my heart to the Lord. At that moment my heart was healed and for the first time I knew peace and joy. That was Dec. 24, 1978, and over the years I’ve read THE BIBLE many times. It is my favorite book of all time. It is the foundation of my life, my source of strength, joy, courage, comfort, and HOPE. I pray that it is yours, as well.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Life

2 responses to “30 Day Book Meme – Day 30

  1. I’m pretty much a secular gal myself, but this was a lovely post. Thank you for sharing your journey. I’m glad you found what you needed, dear.