30 Day Book Meme – Day 28

Day 28 – Favorite title
“Twinkie, Deconstructed”

deconstruct |ˌdēkənˈstrəkt|
verb [ trans. ]
analyze (a text or a linguistic or conceptual system) by deconstruction, typically in order to expose its hidden internal assumptions and contradictions and subvert its apparent significance or unity.
• (in general use) dismantle : do we need to deconstruct all the institutions that we’ve created in order to improve them?

When I see this title I think:

  • I could set the Twinkie on the counter and shoot it with rubber bands and burst it into little pieces, thus deconstructing it and making a huge mess on the counter.
  • Or maybe I’ll set up beakers and Bunsen burners and test tubes, a real CSI lab right there in my kitchen, and deconstruct the Twinkie and analyze all the hidden ingredients.
  • Then I had this weird idea that involved the erector set my brother had as a kid … but let’s not go there.

Have you ever eaten a Twinkie? Did you ever take it apart? Joyfully guilty on both counts. A Twinkie is filled with delicious, delectable, childhood memory evoking, creamy goodness. Is it good stuff? No, we know it isn’t. Should I, or anyone, eat them? Probably not. But do I really and truly want to know what all that stuff is that makes up a Twinkie? NO! Either I’m going to enjoy them or not.

My personal preference at this point in time, would be a slice of homemade cake or quick bread goodness. Something filled with all the richness and wonder I put together myself. But once in a while, I get this urge, and then I realize that I’d have to put my shoes on, and a jacket, and go out to the car, start it up, drive down to the store, go in, fight the hordes, hope they even stock Twinkie’s these days, stand in line, shamefully hand over my money to the clerk (who likely will know me), drive home, put the car back in the garage, come in, hang up my coat, close the blinds, turn down the lights, and then … well, after thinking it through I just skip the whole process.

Even with rubber bands, Bunsen burners, and erector sets, I have no desire to deconstruct a Twinkie, much less eat one. Now these cookies, these I’m happy to deconstruct for you and for me:

This is my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe.
Chocolate Chip Cookies
Source: The Betty Crocker Recipe Card Library, 1971

2/3 C shortening
2/3 C butter, softened
1 C granulated sugar
1 C brown sugar (packed)
2 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla
3 C all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 C chopped nuts (walnuts, pecans, almonds – whatever suits you)
2 packages (6 ounces each) semisweet chocolate pieces (sometimes I like to mix 3 oz. butterscotch pieces with 3 oz. semisweet chocolate pieces)

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Cream butter, shortening and sugars. Add in eggs and vanilla and mix well. Blend in remaining ingredients. (For a softer, rounder cookie, add 1/2 C flour.)

Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheet. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until light brown. Cool slightly before removing from baking sheet. About 7 dozen cookies.

Note: to bake fresh cookies on short notice, keep a supply of cookie dough in the freezer. Wrap it in an airtight freezer container, aluminum foil or plastic wrap. Thaw it until just soft enough to spoon onto baking sheet. Cookie dough can be frozen and stored from 9 to 12 months.

Comments Off on 30 Day Book Meme – Day 28

Filed under Books

Comments are closed.