30 Day Book Meme – Day 27

Day 27 – The most surprising plot twist or ending

“Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less” by Jeffrey Archer is an exciting, convoluted adventure. Originally published in 1976, it was Archer’s first novel—and oh, what a novel it is.

Harvey Metcalfe is a cheat and swindler, only 4 of the men he cheats set out to turn the tables on him. They do a grand job, and soon they’ve recovered most of the money. Then something unexpected happens and … well, there is one secret kept from the reader that some might see coming, others might not. I was caught off guard and had to laugh at myself. My only objection is that this revelation (or lack of one) was followed by an abrupt “the end”.

This story kept a good pace and stayed on solid ground until the end. I’ve not read any other offerings from Archer, and I’ve always wondered if he was able to keep up the suspense. Perhaps I’ll find out some day.

Here’s a small treat:

Wild Irises - taken on walking path at Yaquina Head Lighthouse

Comments Off on 30 Day Book Meme – Day 27

Filed under Books

Comments are closed.