30 Day Book Meme – Day 26

Day 26 – A book that changed your opinion about something

Decision Points by George W. Bush

Overall I found this to be an interesting look at the presidency, and how Bush formed his cabinet, made his decisions, etc.  I still found myself disagreeing with him on several key decisions: “No child left behind” was, and is, (in my opinion) a colossal failure; and his ideas for reforming Social Security are, again in my opinion, all wrong. While he didn’t discuss his decision on “eminent domain/property rights”, I still feel that was a bad decision.

However, after reading his comments on stem cell research, and getting a better grasp of what he knew (that I didn’t), I understand why he made the decision he did and I can now say I support that decision.

As a side note, it wasn’t planned, but I read the chapters on 9/11 and Iraq over 9/11/11. It made it all the more touching.

At the end of the book I felt stronger than ever that G.W. Bush was the right choice in both elections, and definitely he was God’s man to lead this country through 9/11/01.

Comments Off on 30 Day Book Meme – Day 26

Filed under Books, Life

Comments are closed.