30 Day Book Meme – Day 20

Day 20 – Favorite romance novel

I’m not a reader of romance novels. In fact, romance genre to me conjures up memories of when a friend dumped hundreds of Harlequin’s on me. She had every Harlequin published to that date. I didn’t know how to say no thanks without offending her, so I filled the trunk, and back seat, of my car with all these paper sacks filled to the brim with steamy paperbacks, and took them home. She had kindly put them in order and left me a note on what to read first. So I grabbed a cup of coffee and sat and read. Only took a few hours and I was through the first book. Grabbed another and read it in a few hours. The next day I grabbed a third book and started to read and thought, “Hey, read this already.” Then I started digging into the bags and reading the back of the books. There was a nice synopsis of the story. They were all alike. Change the settings, time frame, and character names and you were good to go. So, I spent a few days reading the backs of all those books. After a few weeks, I returned them to her, we had a nice chat about them, and soon after that she moved away and I’ve never read another romance novel. Or so I thought.

One day while grocery shopping, I was looking at the paperbacks on display and the cover of The Mulberry Tree caught my eye (it is a pretty cover). I picked it up and read the back cover and a few pages inside and it piqued my interest, so I bought it. I was totally captivated with the story. Here we have Lillian, whose life is turned inside out with the loss of her husband, her wealth, power, and friends. She’s left with a run down house and a puzzle to solve.

As she works to solve the puzzle and make a new life for herself, she realizes that she has to go back to who she once was, before she can become a woman in her own right. Eventually Lillian sheds her old self, and blooms forth into a new life—one filled with a new purpose and intent, hope, promise and love. I found this story totally captivating and read the book in just a few days. I was surprised to find that it was considered a romance novel. No matter the genre, I remain a fan of this book.

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “30 Day Book Meme – Day 20

  1. Lois

    I used to love Harlequin romances when I was working as an LPN. We’d read them on night shift because you often had to get up and go do something; when you came back, it didn’t matter if you’d lost your place or even if you grabbed the wrong book, the story was the same.