30 Day Book Meme – Day 16

Day 16 – Favorite female character

Oh gads. This was hard. I have read so many light mysteries over the years, and so many of the female protagonists are absolute empty headed idiots, that it was hard to come up with a female character that I really like.

Then inspiration struck. Actually it struck because I was looking for a cookie recipe in my recipe box and I came across a recipe from the “Goldie” series by Diane Mott Davidson, and that’s when it struck me: I do like Goldie. I like her as a chef, as a caffeine addict, as a chocoholic, as Marla’s friend, as a wife and mom, and even as a detective at times (although she often irritates me in this role).

When I read how she gets inspired and comes up with food creations, I think, “Oh, I’d like to do that.” I read how she whips up lattes, espressos, foamy hot chocolate, and I think, “Oh, I’d like to do that.” I read how she’s so organized with her catering/cooking and I think, “Oh, I’d like to do that.” I read how she has this wonderful kitchen to cook and bake in, and I think, “Oh, I’d like that in my home.” I read how she has this huge walk-in refrigerator and I think, “Oh, I’d like that in my kitchen.”

However, I must admit that at my age, I have no desire to emulate her as a mom. HA! I do think I’ve got a great husband and we’ve got a great relationship, so I never think “Oh, I’d like to be like Goldie and Tom.” I do sometimes envy her friendship with Marla, but not for long as I have some precious friends in my life.

So what recipe sparked my brain? “Cereal Killer Cookies”, and you can find it here. (Note: I use butterscotch bits in place of the almond brickle chips).

Comments Off on 30 Day Book Meme – Day 16

Filed under Books, Life

Comments are closed.