30 Day Book Meme – Day 14

Day 14 – Favorite book of your favorite present day writer
(again, theme modified slightly based on yesterday’s post)

I have read both of the books by Kristina McMorris, and give them both 5-star ratings (a rarity for me), but the one that holds the dearest place in my heart is Letters From Home.

Letters From Home was inspired by the true story of her grandparents love and friendship that was nurtured through the letters they wrote to each other during WWII. In this story we meet 3 friends (Betty, Julia and Liz), and 2 brothers (Charlie and Morgan). We travel with them to the war front, and we follow those who remain behind as they deal with life during the war. We learn of their heart-breaks, their joys, frustrations, deceits, and emotional growth that often only comes from tragedy.

This book touched so many emotions within me. It is funny, sad, tender, romantic, thought-provoking, gritty and memory invoking. Kristina has the ability to reach deep into her characters, and thus reach deep into the hearts of her readers.

This is an incredible story, and a wonderful tribute to the men and women who served in WWII, and to the loved ones they left behind. This book was one of my top 5 reads for 2011.

As I said yesterday, Kristina has become my favorite present day writer, and whatever she writes, I’ll be reading.

Comments Off on 30 Day Book Meme – Day 14

Filed under Books

Comments are closed.