30 Day Book Meme – Day 12

Day 12 – A book you used to love but don’t anymore

Answer: Any book in the Travis McGee series

One of the first mystery series that I read, post high school, was the Travis McGee series by John D. MacDonald. I fell in love. McGee was tall, tan, athletic and sexy. Oh, and the stories were pretty exciting too. Eventually the series ended and I felt a bit sad, but moved on to other books.

A few years ago I found a copy of the one of the first books in the series and picked it up to read. It didn’t take long before I was saying, “UGH! What a pig he is.” Time, and falling in love with a wonderful man who isn’t a womanizer, showed me that McGee wasn’t a decent character, he was a toad. The story itself seemed terribly lacking as well, and so I closed the cover about 40 pages in and tossed it in the recycle bin. So glad I’ve moved forward in my life.

And because (with apologies to Alan Jay Lerner and André Previn) The Best Things In Life Are Purty, here’s a “purty” from last summer:

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “30 Day Book Meme – Day 12

  1. I can’t wait to start this challenge in April. I love reading everyone challenge answers. I’ll have to go through some of yours.