30 Day Book Meme – Day 6

Day 06 – A book that made me sad

Like many readers, I avoid books that I know will make me sad. Life can be sad enough, without filling my leisure time with unnecessary sadness. However, there are times when a non-fiction book is so compelling, that I’m willing to grab some tissues and read. American Nightingale: the story of Frances Slanger, forgotten heroine of Normandy by Bob Welch. (see related post)

I read this book simply because I heard the author speak about how he came to write the book, the research he put into it, and some of the side stories he shared about the people he met. I wanted to meet Frances Slanger, even if it was only on paper. As I read, I cried so much I wound up with a headache. This book tells an absolutely incredible story, of a woman lost to this world much too soon, and the story is told in a wonderful, sensitive way, by an excellent author. As hard as it was to read, if you like non-fiction, especially non-fiction about WWII, then I can tell you to grab a box of tissues and read American Nightingale… by Bob Welch.

Taking a cue from a friend to end this on a happy note, here’s a puppy we saw patiently waiting for their friend to return:

2 Comments

Filed under Photos

2 responses to “30 Day Book Meme – Day 6

  1. Laraine

    I totally agree with you…I don’t usually like sad books or sad movies. I always feel like I’ve been through a wringer; emotionally exhausted. I skew more toward wanting escapism Disney style–with happy endings, good winning over evil, the good guy getting the girl–that kind of thing.

  2. Laraine, I’m with you. 🙂