30 Day Book Meme – Day 5

Day 05 – A book that makes you happy: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

Dearest Mom,

I’m reading the most delightful book about a book club on the island of Guernsey. It takes place during WWII, and the premise is that locals lied about the club when they were caught out after curfew. Of course they had to keep up the pretense, so they begin to meet. You should visit your local bookstore and get a copy.

Much Love,
Your daughter

Darling Daughter,

Your father isn’t very happy with the 2 of us. You for encouraging me to visit a bookstore (where I spent far too much money), and me for starting to read the book about the Guernsey book club. Dinner has been late for the past few nights, and I’m short on sleep. By the way, who do you think Juliet will marry?

Your loving mom

Dear Mom,

Dad shouldn’t complain. He’s the one who instilled the love of reading in me and if I spend money on books, then you should enjoy doing the same. I’m almost done with the book, so I know who Juliet will marry. You don’t want me to spoil it for you, do you? Oh, and let’s never make a potato peel pie. Sounds rather unappetizing to me.

Your loving bookworm of a daughter

Dear Bookworm Daughter,

I finished the book last night. I read while your father fixed dinner. He says I’ve been horrid company lately, but he agrees that you have a point about his starting all this when you were little. This was a wonderful book, and I found myself relating in a very small way to the experiences of the people on Guernsey. WWII did change the lives of many of us forever. Thanks for telling me about this book.

Your tired, but loving, mom

Dear mom,

I’m so glad you enjoyed this book. I found it to be a heartwarming story, even with the sad parts, for it was filled with hope and love. I very much liked the epistolary format of the book; and the story of how the original author came up with the idea was interesting. Did you know that the island of Guernsey celebrates its freedom on May 9th every year? Liberation day! Sounds grand. Perhaps we should have a party to celebrate along with them? Can’t wait to see you and dad this weekend.

Love you both,
Your daughter

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Life

One response to “30 Day Book Meme – Day 5

  1. What a brilliant way to show your love for this book. I love it!