30 Day Book Meme – Day 2

Day 02 – A book that you’ve read more than 3 times

I’m not one to reread books. There are too many books out there waiting to be enjoyed. There are 3 exceptions:

  • The Judge Dee series.
  • The Nero Wolfe series.
  • Mrs. Mike by Benedict and Nancy Freedman

I first heard Mrs. Mike when I was in 7th grade. I say heard because our English teacher read it to us over the winter. She was a good reader, and she’d chosen a good story. By books end, even the boys were captivated. Mrs. Mike is the story of Katherine Mary O’Fallon, a young girl who goes to Boston for health reasons. There she meets Sgt. Mike Flannigan of the RCMP, and falls in love. Their honeymoon is an adventure by train and dog sled over rough, rugged territory.

The worst winter in fifty years … On the north side of the train the windows were plastered with snow, and on the south side great clouds of snow were whipped along by a sixty-mile gale. there was snow on top of the train and snow under the train, and all the snow there was left in the world in front of the train, which was why were were stopped.

It’s not an easy book to read. Life was hard in the early 1900’s, and life was very different from what we now live. You have to read this with an open mind and heart. Kathy and Mike face hardships, joy, sorrow, happiness and love. They grow together, and the reader grows with them.

I had always read a library copy of this book, and then one day the copy was gone from the shelf for good. I was heartbroken. One Saturday my husband was off to visit his dad, and they were garage sale shopping. When my husband returned he handed me a book and casually said, “I thought you might like this.” I opened the cover, saw it was Mrs. Mike and burst into tears. It’s truly one of the most precious gifts he’s ever given to me. It’s a very early edition, in wonderful condition, and he paid a whole dime for it. I try to find time to read it every winter, and every time I read it my heart is touched on many levels. It brings back wonderful memories of my childhood, and it reminds me of my precious husband and his love for me. And isn’t that a fitting way to enjoy a book?

Comments Off on 30 Day Book Meme – Day 2

Filed under Books

Comments are closed.